By Jeff Bean-NFS Media- Lake City Fl. Wayne O’Neal ended a three year win less stretch in Sportsman competition at North Florida Speedway Saturday night. The night also featured a Halloween celebration with trick or treating for the kids and a costume contest for all the youngsters. In other racing action Adam Bedenbaugh continued his dream season with a hard fought win over Bo Allen in Late Model action. David Pleaugh extended his point lead with a win in the Florida Mini Sprint Association feature event. Point leader Shane Taylor used a borrowed ride to win his fourth Pure Stock race in his last five tries.

 The Sportsman cars were the group to hit the speedway for feature event racing and getting the race started seemed to be an almost impossible task. Nineteen cars rolled out to start the race and after five botched attempts to get the race underway the attrition rate was heavy with eight cars unable to complete one lap. Last weeks winner Jody Turner was one of the cars caught up in the early carnage but the point leader was able to take advantage of the amount of time it took to get one green flag lap completed and was able to get the car back on the track for the long awaited start. Once the race was underway Wayne O’Neal was able to grab the lead he would not surrender. Heath Walker spun to bring out the first yellow and this would see Walker’s night end after one lap. CJ Waldron spun on lap two to bring out the yellow and up front it was O’Neal leading over David Tyrrell and Kevin Mills. Scott Spears would bring out a caution on lap four as his car slowed on the front stretch. From this point O’Neal would lead the rest of the way to take the win over Tyrrell and David Showers third.

The Late Model main event would have Adam Bedenbaugh sharing the front row with Bo Allen. Bedenbaugh jumped to the early lead but Bo Allen was not going to let the race leader run away and hide from the field on this night. Allen kept the pressure on Bedenbaugh all night and Kyle Van Sickle would also make his presence felt from his third place spot. A couple of cautions would slow the pace but under green the lead duo laid it all on the line in the battle for the win. Bedenbaugh would have trouble on his exit from turn four and Allen would try and use this opportunity to his advantage lap after lap. Allen actually had his nose in front of Bedenbaugh at the flag stand on lap ten but Bedenbaugh turned back the challenge and hold on for the victory.

Eighteen Mini Sprints took to the track but Chris Pacetti who came into the night second in the Florida Mini Sprint Association point standings would suffer mechanical problems and never get a chance to complete a lap. A close call came on the wave of the green flag as the car of John Moss failed to come up to speed. Fortunately the field was able to scatter and avoid any serious contact. John Crowder led the first two laps but Austin Jackson would take control and lead the next fourteen laps but point leader David Pleaugh would take the lead and Jackson would spin and make contact with a tractor tire on the inside of the track to end his night after sixteen laps. Pleaugh would then hold off John Crowder and Rae Lynn Moss for his fifth win of 2011.

The Pure Stock feature would have some interesting sub plots as the field took to the track for their feature race. Point leader Shane Taylor would borrow the car of David Hess for the evening as Taylor lost the motor in his car last week. Jerry Fortner who is second in the point standings was scheduled to start on the pole but he had to change cars between the heat and feature which meant he would start at the rear in the car usually driven by Doran Cheney. This would move Jimmy Carter to the inside of the front row with Taylor to his outside. Carter would take lead at the drop of the green but Taylor would hang tough from his second place spot to keep the heat on the race leader. The first caution would not appear until a spin by James Trowell at the half way point. When the race resumed Carter and Taylor would continue the battle by swapping paint at the front of the field. Taylor would make his winning move as the field came to the white flag. Carter would then spin in turn one bringing out the yellow. This set up a one lap shoot out with Taylor holding off Andy Olson and Chris Rowe to take the checkered flag.

Official Results October 22nd 2011

1. Wayne O’Neal #0
2. David Tyrrell #69
3. David Showers #18
4. Lee Brinkley #57
5. Kevin Mills #01
6. Jody Turner #74
7. CJ Waldron #21w
8. Scott Spears #2
9. Spud Lockwood Jr. #32jr.
10. Dave Ponton #10x
11. Heath Walker #nine
12. Kevin Davis #86
13. Sonny Thompson #75
14. Brandon Catto #59
15. Cheyenne Cox #20
16. Mathew McGillivray #95
17. Bill Adkins #26
18. Jamie Dayhaw #21
19. Terry Wright #007

Late Model
1. Adam Bedenbaugh #26
2. Bo Allen #71
3. Kyle Van Sickle #3k
4. Richard Ferry #17
5. Ryan Van Sickle #3r
6. Fred Schell #38
7. Jason Todd Burke #24
8. Travis Saunders #93
9. Darryl Brinkley #37
10. Chuck Cumby #88
11. Larry Anderson #51
12. Allen Cribbs #14

Florida Mini Sprint Association

1. David Pleaugh #711
2. John Crowder #30
3. Rae Lynn Moss #88
4. Steve Crabtree #5
5. Dirk Miller #68
6. Eddie Moss #1m
7. Eddie Moss Jr. #18
8. Dylan Colding #23d
9. Terry Taylor #4
10. John Kahl #2
11. David Hall #67
12. Scott Barberis #14nj
13. Nick Snyder #14s
14. Austin Jackson x59
15. Harold Matthews #116
16. Ken Penta #24
17. John Moss #44
18. Chris Pacetti #16

Pure Stock

1. Shane Taylor #15
2. Andy Olson #13
3. Chris Rowe #23
4. Billy Brock #30
5. Veronica Clark #17
6. Jerry Fortner #98c
7. Shawn Creech #07
8. Darryl Roberts #1x
9. William Martin #06
10. James Trowell #58
11. Dewayne Burke #20
12. Jimmy Carter #4
13. Rick Reed #66
14. Jeffrey Holmes #4b
15. Shane Corbin #19
16. Doran Cheney #47

TQ Late Models
1. David Rader #6
2. John Hopke #H1
3. Randy Bobby #15
4. Richard Tipton #7

Next race date is November 5th 2011 with Late Models, Sportsman, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Limited Mods and Box Stocks. for more info call 386-754-8800 or visit us on the web at