By Jeff Bean-NFS Media-Lake City Fl. Although the weather was chilly on Saturday night the action on the track was hot at times with Kyle Van Sickle surviving a late race skirmish with a lapped car to hold off Adam Bedenbaugh and his brother Ryan Van Sickle for the the checkers. In Street Stock competition Sammy Hatcher took the win over Heath Walker and Dennis Peterson. Kyle Arvin took his second win in Limited Modified over Ronald Broughton and Devin Walker. Jimmy Carter was the Pure Stock winner over Jerry Fortner and Chris Rowe. In the finale it was John Windham first to the checkers in Box Stock but Bryar Zimmerman was the first to pass post race technical inspection to earn his second victory of 2011.

The Street Stocks would roll on to the speedway to get the nights feature events started and Windal Clark took the early lead over Calvin Pike with Sammy Hatcher making an early move from sixth to third. Harley Zimmerman brought out the first caution with a flat tire on lap two. When the race resumed Clark held onto the lead but the yellow flag would wave again on lap four as Pike would slow on the backstretch with a flat tire of his own. Hatcher then used the ensuing restart to take the lead from Clark. Behind the lead pair the battle for third was heating up and Heath Walker, Chris Barnhardt and Marty Smith tangled in turn four with Smith getting the worst of it as he was unable to rejoin the race. With the field under yellow and getting ready for a one lap shoot out between Hatcher and Walker the third place car of Clark stopped at the entrance of turn three and his night was over and this moved Barnhardt into third only to see him suffer the same fate as he retired to the infield before the green flag waved. Once the race resumed Hatcher would hold off a determined Heath Walker and Dennis Peterson for the win.

When the Late Models appeared for their main event the front row would have Lake City rivals Kyle Van Sickle and Adam Bedenbaugh on the front row. Van Sickle would move to the early lead and get one lap completed when Allen Cribbs spun in turn four to bring out the first yellow. On lap four Bo Allen spun in turn four and collected Ryan Van Sickle but both cars were able to continue. Once back under green Kyle Van Sickle would pace the field and open up some distance on the rest of the field. Daryl Brinkley spun on lap fourteen to tighten the field back up but once back under green Van Sickle went back to work rebuilding his lead. On lap twenty Van Sickle was working lapped traffic entering turn three when he was collected by a lapped car and the car of Fred Schell ended up on top of the wall in turn three. Fortunately the damage to the race leaders car was not enough to need any repairs and he was able to finish the last five laps at the front of the field. Bedenbaugh would follow in second and Ryan Van Sickle was able to recover from an earlier incident to rally his way back to third.

The start of the Limited Modified feature would have an opening lap skirmish that would see pole sitter Devin Walker suffer a flat tire. When the green flag waved again another scramble would develop and Adam Higginbotham would make a bold move trying to go from outside of row four to the lead but contact with a tractor tire positioned on the inside of the track at the exit of turn four would see Higginbotham suffer a flat tire. On lap three race leader J.D. Jeffers would make contact with front stretch guard rail bringing out the yellow. On lap four a turn two pile up would eliminate five cars and change the complexion of the race. Kyle Arvin would race his way to the lead and hold off Ronald Broughton and Devin Walker for his second win of the season.

Jerry Fortner would grab the lead at the start of the Pure Stock feature from William Martin and lead the first two laps before a left rear flat tire on Veronica Clark’s car would bring out the yellow flag. On lap five Daryl Roberts would spin from his second place spot in the running order to bring out the yellow. On lap six point leader Shane Taylor would spin in turn two to bring out the yellow flag. Fortner would continue to lead but as he came to take the white flag Jimmy Carter would make the winning move and pass Fortner for the lead. Chris Rowe would continue his strong runs of late with a third place finish.

The start of the Box Stock feature would see John Windham surge from eighth to first in less than one lap. Dylan Hurston would spin at the bottom of turn two with one lap in the books but he had help so he was returned to his spot in the running order and Randy Clark was placed to the tail of the field for his role in the incident. Cory Crews would bring out the next yellow after making contact with the front stretch guard rail. As the field raced back under green the battle appeared to be for second place as Windham would enjoy a comfortable lead. Point leader Bryar Zimmerman would charge up to second in the closing lapsĀ  with Dylan Hurston following him. After Windham’s car was found to be not legal for class rules Zimmerman would inherit the win with Hurston second and Amber Williams moved up to third in the final run down.

The 2011 season comes to a close on Thanksgiving weekend with annual Turkey Trot. Friday November 25th starts the weekend with Late Models running for $1500 to win in a tune up for Saturday nights $3000 to win Harvey Jones Memorial. Also on Friday night Florida Mini Sprint Association will run heats and features as well as Box Stocks. Saturday night will feature the Harvey Jones Memorial along with plenty of other racing action. Please visit us at or call 386-754-8800 for more details.

Official Results November 5th 2011
Late Models
1. Kyle Van Sickle #3k
2. Adam Bedenbaugh #26
3. Ryan Van Sickle #3r
4. Bo Allen #71
5. Stanton Mills #14m
6. Allen Cribbs #14c
7. Daryl Brinkley #37
8. Bill Gould #17
9. Jack Nosbisch #01
10. Dave Ponton #10x
11. Fred Schell #38
12. Chuck Cumby #88
13. Jody Turner #74
14. Larry Anderson #51
15 Greg Skyta #15

Limited Modified
1. Kyle Arvin #96
2. Ronald Broughton #51
3. Devin Walker #6
4. Phillip Albritton #04
5. Shane Taylor #82
6. Randy Barnhardt #44
7. J.D. Jeffers #72
8. Dwayne Worden #16
9. Adam Higginbotham #20a
10. Jeff Barnes #03 DNS

Pure Stock
1. Jimmy Carter #4
2. Jerry Fortner #F16
3. Chris Rowe #23
4. Brent Zimmerman #OOZ
5. Veronica Clark #17
6. Andy Olson #13
7. Shane Taylor #82
8. Daryl Roberts #1x
9. William Martin #06
10. Doran Cheney #98c
11. David Hess #15

Box Stock
1. Bryar Zimmerman #lil ooz
2. Dylan Hurston #26
3. Amber Willis #12
4. Corey Crews #21
5. Wayne Risner #1r
6. Taylor Clark #17
7. Randy Clark #1c
8. Bobby Dennard #7L
9. Shea Spears #44
10. Logan Green #12g
11. Daryl Larson #15 DQ
12. John Windham #65 DQ

Street Stock (Top Three Only)

1. Sammy Hatcher #B1
2. Heath Walker #nine
3. Dennis Peterson #00