Oct. 1, 2011 – Six divisions were on hand tonight along with the Big Jim Bargo Memorial for Fan Participation drivers. Plenty of action through out the night including one driver doubling up in Victory Lane.
 Listen to the Call from the Booth by Karnac.com Audio

At Intermission before the feature events was the Big Jim Bargo Memorial for Fan Participation drivers with twelve drivers all trying to win the $175 purse for first and $75 for Runner-up. Special thanks to East Bay Raceway Park, JR Prather’s Racing Team, The Bargo Family and Tommy’s Towing for sponsoring the event. It came down to a familiar face in Victory Lane and a first time finalist going for the two laps around The Clay By The Bay. Todd Ford was victorious in his Ford Mustang over Brian Snyder picking up the Runner-Up spot.

First on the track for the Feature event were the Outlaw 4’s. Roberto Morfin, Jr. and Kyle Kruse picked up heat wins earlier on in the evening. It was the point leader Nick Hebrank Jamie Burrows on the front row. Burrows had problems in the warm up laps and was not able to continue. When the green flag dropped, Morfin, Jr. was in control. Kruse and Hebrank battled for the second spot, but a caution flag came out on lap four. Kruse pulled off the track with mechanical problems taking him out of the chase. He was second at the time. Green flag waved again and Morfin, Jr. was in command once again leading the entire feature and picking up another feature win. The battle for second was between Stephen Hohlbaugh and Jesse Brown coming to the line with Hohlbaugh picking up the second position over Brown. Nick Hebrank was fourth  and J. R. Baker fifth.

Street Stocks were next with David Barwick, II and Donnie Reed picking up the heat wins. It was Reed and Barwick, II starting up front for the feature event. Former Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bomber Champion Collin Kruse came from the fifth spot to take the lead and had Reed and several other drivers all trying to take the lead from Kruse. Collin held on to take his first feature win in his Street Stock. He has been battling the car for months and thanked his friends for their continued support and helping him getting it in Victory Lane. Reed finished second, Curtis Book, Jarod Gay and Mark Pickelsimer were your top five.

Roger Crouse and Bryan Bernhardt picked up the heat wins and made up the front row for the feature. When the green flag came out, Roger looked like a man on a mission as he quickly went out in front and seemed to have his car on a rail. Bernhardt, Phillip Cobb, and Travis Varnadore all tried without success to catch him. Roger led all twenty five laps, and when he pulled into Victory Lane, thanked his wife and sponors for helping him out this season, but had to get into his Limited Late Model for the next feature event as he was pulling double duty tonight. When the checkered flag waved, Cobb, Varnadore, Bernhardt and Hayden Campbell rounded out the top five.

 JR Prather, Jr. and last weeks feature winner, Scotty Williams won their heat races. But once again saw Roger Crouse and current points leader Jason Pope on the front row. Just like in his feature for the Late Models, Crouse quickly jumped into the lead leaving his fellow competitors all battling for the second spot. Jason Pope, Scotty Williams, Shane Koperda and JR Prather, Jr. made up your top five for the feature. 

The Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers were next up. Heat winner Patrick Fiore and Richard Humfeld made up the front row with the other heat race winner, Jimmy Williams starting third. Patrick Fiore got a great start on the initial green flag with Raymond Vann charging up through the field after starting in the sixth spot. But after several laps, Vann pulled into the infield with a blown motor. Leaving Jimmy Williams still in second. Fiore had the field covered when the checkered flag waved. Williams picked up second, while points leader Dittebrand third, Kayla Jones and Dalton Goldhammer finishing fifth. Dittebrand said after the races, he thought Fiore had pulled off giving Williams the win, but didn’t realize Fiore had the field covered that well.

Dirt Daubers closed out the night with Janien Dixon picking up her fifth win of the season, but not able to gain any ground on points leader Brett Phillips and her husband, Bill Dixon who is second in points and finished third. Bill Bolle and Henry Wylee rounded out the top five.

ASA sanctioned racing returns to East Bay Raceway Park on Saturday, October 8, 2011.  The program will include the Top Gun Sprints making their return for their second race of the year. Along with them will be the Florida Mini Sprints, Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Street Stocks and the  Motorstats.com 4 Cylinder Bombers. For more information, go to www.eastbayracewaypark.com or call the track office.