Hendersonville, NC (8/20/12) –United Auto Racing Association will celebrate their 170th event at Kingsport Motor Speedway on Friday, September 14th.

In 2001 Kerry Bodenhamer along with now silent partners found a way to give back to the motorsport community. They established the United Auto Racing Association, Southern Touring Asphalt Racing Series, also known as the UARA-STARS. Bodenhamer decided to step out of the role as a competitor and major fabricator for late model stocks and become the backbone of the series.

Eleven years later, he serves as the President of the series while his wife, Wink, runs the Administration. Kerry’s son and sister also play a huge role in the series. Son A.J. is the Race Director and Ms. Kathy has double duty as pit booth sign in person and assistant score-keeper. The Bodenhamer family realized that racing is much more enjoyable when the whole family is involved and able to enjoy it.

“We want to create a family-friendly environment that gives parents the opportunity to take their kids to watch good ole’ late model racing,” says President Bodenhamer. “We also wanted drivers to get a taste of the experience of traveling in a touring series without the pressures of a thirty-week schedule.”

The series travels through-out four different states over a 16 race season. The UARA-STARS race season begins in middle March and runs through the beginning of November. Each race is usually a 150-lap event, with the exception of larger tracks like Rockingham. The events are long enough to give drivers the opportunity to come from the back of the field and to create an action packed finish.

Throughout the years, many well-known drivers have participated UARA-STARS events. Drivers like Danny O’Quinn Jr., Matt McCall, Matt DiBenedetto, and Darrell Wallace Jr. have all signed with major NASCAR affiliated teams. Steven Wallace, Kyle Grissom, Jesse Little, Robert Johnson and Coleman Pressley stepped out of their famous father’s shadow to create their own name.

Along with famous names, the UARA-STARS get to work with some well-known sponsors. The cars run on Sunoco fuel and Goodyear tires. Sunoco also sponsors the Sunoco Pole award to the fast qualifier. Racing Electronics is a vital part of the UARA’s communication and also awards a “Second to None” award to the second place finisher in each event. Holley sponsors the Holley Performer of the Race Award for the driver who gains the most positions during the race. Comp Cams sponsors the Comp Cams Engine builder of the Race as well as the Comp Cams Engine Builder of the year. PigWire Wiring Harness supports the PigWire’s Electrifying Move of the Race for the driver who has the move that wows the fans the most whether it is a great save or major accident. Circle Wheel and Xtreme Trophies are co-sponsors of the Rookie of the Race. Ford, Aluminum Racing Products and Five Star Bodies are all strong supporters of the UARA-STARS.

Circle Wheel not only supports the Rookie of the race but also has awards for positions finished. Other contributing sponsors awarding certificates to positions finished are Tilton, Swift Springs, WP Racing Shocks, JRI, Joe Gibbs Driven, Safety Kleen and Ultra Cool Brake Fans. Arcoplate signed on mid season with a year end bonus. Drivers competing in the final 10 events will be allowed to collect points from their best 8 of those events and the leader will win a $1000 bonus at the awards banquet.

Fans can follow their favorite STARS on Twitter, @uarastars, and “like” them on Facebook under the United Auto Racing Association.