Phillip Cobb Wins Late Model Feature Event At East Bay Raceway Park

May 19, 2012 – Tampa, FL – Four divisions were on hand tonight to compete. Late Models were in action along with the Limited Late Models, Street Stocks, 4 Cylinder Bombers PLUS Fan Participation.

Before any feature events got under way, Fan Participation was first at Intermission. Fred Long was the winner in a new Camaro. Todd Ford’s brother-in-law, Aaron was runner-up.

First feature event went to the Street Stocks. Donnie Reed and Matthew Grissom won their heat races. Points leader Eric Moon and Justan Rodgers made up the front row for the start of the feature. On the start, Moon took the early lead, but on lap three, Grissom grabbed the top spot.

The first caution came out on lap nine as Dennis Wilson, Jr. spun in turn two handing fourth over to Billy Carlbert, Jr. Several more cautions came out before getting the final green flag. Moon made his move as Grissom moved up and allowed Moon to take the lead and the win picking up his third feature win of the season. Grissom finished second with Jeff Rodgers, Dennis Wilson charging back up to finish fourth and Carlbert, Jr. rounding out the top five.

Next up were the Limited Late Models. Scotty Williams and Forrest Gough won their heat races. On the front row for the feature it was Roger Crouse and Daniel Woody. When the green waved, Woody took over the top spot and never looked back and grabbed the win as the entire feature was caution free. Williams was second with Crouse, Gough and Shane Koperda rounding out the top five.

Next were the Late Models. Phillip Cobb and Dennis Williams won the heat races. John Norris and Todd Alexander made up the front row for the feature event. When the green waved, Alexander took over the top spot going into turn one, but Cobb quickly made his way to the front after starting in the sixth position. Cobb grabbed the lead on the next lap and went on to win the feature. “We have had a lot of bad luck this year leading races and then getting flat tires, so it feels good to be in Victory Lane tonight” he stated. Maverick Varnadore made his way through the field after starting last and finished second. Roger Crouse was third with Frankie Erskine, Jr and Dennis Williams rounding out the top five.

Last feature event went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. George Handy, Bubba Puyear and Johnnie Alexander won their heat races. Jason Burnside and Johnnie Alexander started on the front row. Alexander took the early lead and seemed to have it under control, but after starting in the eighth postion, Robert Kissam charged thru the field and took over the lead on the very last lap picking up the feature win. Alexander finished second with Puyear third, Handy fourth and William Burnside rounding out the top five.

ASA Racing continues next week with the Late Models, Gagels Open Wheel Modifieds, Outlaw Fours, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Old Time Mods. For further information, log on to or call 813-677-7223 for more information.

Related posts