Michael “The Kid” Atwell Takes the win at Full Throttle Speedway

20130528-195356.jpgIt was a night that the young guns would shine, at the ASA sanctioned, Full Throttle Speedway. Proud Papas would smile a little bigger, and walk a little taller, after the checkered flag dropped this past Saturday night.

The first class of the night would be the Florida Dwarf cars. It looked as if the #17 John Bailey, would be the driver to beat, but during the warm up lap the left front suspension collapsed on his car that ended his night early. The #25 Darren Bass, of Clarcona, took the win. The #56 Larry Hubbaard Jr., was second and the #08 Rob “The Cowboy” Kohler, finished third.

The Legends cars, were out in full force with a large field of cars ready to take the green flag. The #00 of Darrin Coker looked to be in control of the race, until the halfway point when the #29 of Joey
Azzata, took the lead away. Coker, would not go quietly, and turned up
the heat. Maybe a little too much! Three laps later, while battling for the lead Coker, would blow up his motor, and erupted into a ball of flames going into turn three. With the whole field bearing down on him, and the car on fire, Coker, got the car stopped, and got out of the car unharmed while the safety crew put out the fire. The race
resumed with a few laps to go and Joey Azzata, of Boca Raton ,would take the win. The #01 Devin McLeod, was second, with the #19 Keith Sinkula ,of Palm City in third.

“The Take Aim Gun Range” Late Model Sportsman would take to the track, and the veteran drivers would soon find out that they were in for a fight for the win, with the youngest driver in the field. The #13 Aaron Williamson, of Lakeland, would take the early lead in the 25 lap
event. There was alot of door slamming action throughout the field over the course of the race, but very few cautions. The #51 Michael Atwell, of Naples, was running second and closed in on Williamson, with six laps to go, when the #82 of Josh Calvert, spun coming off of turn four. As the caution came out Williamson, would have to take his car to the pits to change a right rear flat tire. On the restart Atwell, would take the lead and never looked back. When the checkered flag waved 13 year old Michael Atwell, was the winner and left the veterans scratching their heads. Mark Peterson, in the #73out of Sarasota, was second and #17 Clyde Cole finished out the top three.

The J.D. Byrider, Pro Trucks were ready to take the green flag for a very quick twenty five laps. It had been awhile since #64 Brent Huber, of Venice had been to the winners circle and he sure remembered how to get there. Huber, took the top spot with the #36 of young Chad Chastain, of Alva in second, and the #80 of Richard Nelson was third.

The Road Warriors were the last race of the night, and they did not disappoint. The #63 of Kyle Best, tried to hold the field off the best he could, till just after the half-way point of the race. The #80 of Richard Nelson, pounded the turn four wall, and brought out the caution with about eight laps to go. Nelson, would nurse his car to the pits. On the restart the #81 of James Dellea III, would take the lead and the win. second was #98 Cody Allen of Lehigh Acres, and third was #8 of Shane Leonard, out of Cape Coral.

June 1st racing action:
Open Wheel Modified
Street Stock
Road Warrior
Pro 4 / Rookie 4
T.Q. Midgets
Cowboy Cadillac
Modified Mini
Fan Participation
Track Closed
Stay up to date and visit our web site:

Results from Full Throttle Speedway 5-25-2013

Late Model Sportsman- sponsored by Take Aim gun Range
1.51 Michael Atwell Naples
2. 73 Mark Peterson Sarasota
3. Clyde Cole Sarasota
4. 67 James Dubose Arcadia
5. 6. Greg Goriak Homestead
6. 98 Roger Welch St. Pete
7. 11x Mark Nelson Clearwater
8. 12 David Williamson Lakeland
9. 13 Arron Williamson Lakeland
10. 82 Josh Calvert North Port
11. 68 Gary McFall Venice

Pro Trucks -sponsored by J.D. Byrider
1.64 Brett Huber Venice
2. 36 Chad Chastain Alva
3. 80 Richard Nelson Prt Charlotte
4. 59 Becca Monopoli Lakeland
5. Danny Anderson Bradenton

1.29 Joey Azzata Boca Raton
2. 01 Devin McCloud
3. 19 Keith Sinkula Palm City
4. 96 Teddy Lively Ruskin
5. 59xBecca Minopoli Lakeland
6. 48m Andy Metz Lakeland
7. 48fl Carl Haag Port St. Lucie
8. 7 Mike Verhaagh Fort Myers
9. 54 Tony Steinbuck Tamarac
10. 9 Mitch Verhaagh Bonita Beach
11. 2d David Patterson Port Charlotte
12. 15 David Flail Bradenton
13. 00 Darin Coker Palm Bush Gardens
14. 99 Kyle Capobianco Spring Hill
15. 5 Seth Adams Mulberry

Road Warriors
1.81 James Dellea Port Charlotte
2. 98 Cody Allen Lehigh
3. 8 Shane Leonard Cape coral
4. 33 Chris Loney Naples
5. 51 Jarrett Cornell N.F. Myers
6. 63 Kyle Best Myakka City
7. 80 Richard Nelson Port Charlotte
8.97 Chris Scott Nokomis
9. 13 Justin Teston Lehigh D.N.S.

Dwarf Cars
1.25 Darren Bass
2. 56 Larry Hubbard Jr.
3. 08 Rob Kohler
4. 33 Roger Richmond
5. 77 Larry Hubbard 3 rd .
6. 17 John Bailey D.N.S.