By Jeff Bean-NFS Media- Lake City Fl

Six different divisions took to the clay at North Florida Speedway Saturday night and Jared Allison scored his first Open Wheel Modified win of 2011. Other feature event winners were the father son team of Ed and Nevin Gainey in Sportsman and Street Stock respectively. Shane Taylor scored his second straight Pure stock win and Daryl Larson took hid third win of 2011 in Box Stock. John Hopke took the win in TQ Lates.

Street Stocks would get the nights feature events underway with Chris Barnhart and Devin Walker on the front row. Walker would get the early advantage and set the pace for the first seven laps. Sammy Hatcher would bring out the first caution as he spun from his second place position while applying pressure to Walker for the lead. Nevin Gainey would take the lead on the next lap and the yellow would appear again for an incident involving Devin Walker and Jimmy Peele. Point leader Marty Smith would bring out the caution on lap ten for a spin in turn four. This would set up a final dash to the finish and Peele and Gainey would battle over the final lap with Peele getting to the finish line first. But for Peele the win would be short lived as his car did not pass post race technical inspection.

Ed Gainey used his outside front row starting spot to take the early lead. By lap five his son Nevin would move into position to challenge for the race lead. A three wide battle down the backstretch on lap six would be the only chance for the younger Gainey as he would drop off the pace with a broken axle. But Gainey would still have plenty of competition with Veronica Clark and Shane Taylor battling behind him. Daniel Keene would bring out the first caution on lap eight. The battle would resume with Gainey maintaining his hold on the lead as Clark and Taylor fought for the runner up spot. As Gainey would exit turn four looking to get the two to go signal he would lose the handle on his car and turn the lead over to Taylor. The final two laps would see Taylor hold off Clark and Andy Olson for his second consecutive victory.

The Open Wheel Modifieds would see seventeen of the nineteen cars in attendance take the green for their feature event.  Newcomers Jared Allison and Scott Mooers would make up the front row and Allison would win the drag race to turn one to grab the lead over Mooers. Donnie Hall would move to second on lap two and on the next lap contact on the front straight between Mooers and Ronnie Chance would end the night for Chance. Allison would start catching the tail of the field on lap four and and this would also see the yellow flag make a couple of appearances for minor incidents. After getting some green flag laps in the books a couple of more cautions would be the only obstacle for Allison as he led Donnie Hall and Jason Davis to the finish.

After his late race miscue in the Pure Stock feature Ed Gainey would come into the Sportsman feature looking for some redemption. Gainey would take the lead from Kyle Chappell at the drop of the green and hold that lead until the first caution flag waved at the half way point. Gainey would survive two more cautions as he held off Chappell and Kevin Davis for the win.

Steven Jeffers would lead the Box Stock feature to green but mechanical problems would see his car coming to a stop in turn two. The next attempt to get the race underway was successful and Daryl Larson moved ahead of Cory Crews to take the lead. Point leader Bryar Zimmerman would bring out the caution on lap four with a flat right front tire. After that Larson would hold off Trey Spradley and Cory Crews for the checkered flag

In TQ Late feature event action John Hopke held off Dave Rader and Adam Taylor for the win. The United Dirt Late Model Challenge Series returns to North Florida Speedway Saturday night October 1st with $3000 to win on the line. Pure Stocks, Street Stocks, Limited Modifieds and Box Stocks will also be on the card. For more info visit us at or call 386-754-8800

Official Results September 24th 2011

Street Stocks

1. Nevin Gainey #17
2. Sammy Hatcher #B1
3. Heath Walker #nine
4. Devin Walker #55 jr.
5. Bobby Rivers #15
6. Ray Durrence Jr. #2  
7. Trish Taylor #31
8. Marty Smith #18
9. Chris Barnhart #33
10. Justin Reynolds #77
11. Kenny Hicks #15h
12. Brian Hodges #09
13. Fred Pylant #72
14. Harley Zimmerman #Z1

Pure Stocks
1. Shane Taylor #82
2. Veronica Clark #17
3. Andy Olson #13
4. Doran Cheney #98c
5. Jerry Fortner #F16
6. William Martin #06
7. Rick Reed #91
8. Brent Zimmerman #OOZ
9. Eddie Gainey #8
10. Shawn Creech #07
11. David Hess #15
12. James Schreiber #24
13.Larry Smith #4
14. Daniel Keene #47
15. Nevin Gainey #57
16. Chris Rowe #23
17. James Langtry #7x

Open Wheel Modifieds

1. Jared Allison #18
2. Donnie Hall #31
3. Jason Davis #145
4. David Crews Jr. #10
5. Dalton Lanich #OK
6. John Gamble #97
7. Shawn Taylor #83
8. Cory Howard #4
9. Scott Mooers #10m
10. David Wansley #28w
11. Dwayne Worden #16
12. Jay Miller #52
13. Johnny Mullner #28
14. Travis King #231
15. Josh Sanford #1g
16. Cody Garner #47
17. Ronnie Chance #7s
18. Paul Sizemore #1s DNS
19. James Edgley #95 DNS


1. Eddie Gainey #8
2. Kyle Chappell #66
3. Kevin Davis #86
4. Jody Turner #74
5. Brandon Catto #59
6. Wayne O’Neal #0
7. Dave Ponton #10x
8. Jamie Dayhaw #21
9. Allen Brinkley #19
10. Sonny Thompson #75
11. Allen Cribbs #37

Box Stock
1. Daryl Larson #15
2. Trey Spradley #1s
3. Cory Crews #21
4. Billy Wilson #32w
5. Dylan Hurston #26
6. Bryar Zimmerman #lil ooz
7. Randy Clark #1c
8. Logan Green #12g
9. Tami Clark #17
10. James Hickey #5
11. Bobby Denard #7L
12. Amber Willis #12
13. Steven Jeffers #07

TQ Lates
1. John Hopke #H1
2. David Rader #6
3. Adam Taylor #18
4. Danny Thomas #4
5. Katherine Thomas #34
6. Chelsea Powell #007
7. Adam Bedenbaugh #26