Crews takes first ever win @Putnam

024By Rob Hinckley

SATSUMA, FL (April 11) – “I saw him. He was right there.”

But that was as close as Corey Crews would let Paul Snyder get. The rush of Crews’ first ever Modified feature win overcame a sputtering car the last handful of laps and propelled him to the Putnam County Speedway Winners Circle Saturday evening.

“This is great,” Crews said in the Winners Circle. “My very first win.”

Crews started on the pole of the 20-lap main, led every lap and held off Snyder’s challenges the last half of the race. Snyder, a late arrival after being rained out at another track, moved from the rear to the runner up finish.

Marion Sizemore, Larry Mott and David Crews rounded out the Top Five.

Sean Babcock led the debut of the TQ Late Models. He moved around Kevin Byers with six laps to go and won the 15-lap feature.

Byers, Chuck Cessna and Ryan Bender came next.

Scotty Sullivan wound through lapped traffic and won a wild 12-lap Gladiator finale. He beat James Sullivan and Jonathan Green to the checkered flag.

Mike Tripp made it two straight trips to the Winners Circle in his 15-year old Thunder Stock Camaro.

Jake Hartley won his second Hobby Stock feature of the season.

Racing continues this Saturday April 18 with an event recently added to the schedule. Modifieds, Thunder Stocks and Gladiators will compete. First green flag is set for 7pm.




1st Heat (8 laps) – 1. Corey Crews 2. Marion Sizemore 3. Mike Henry 4. David Crews 5. Tim Brown

Feature (20 laps) – 1. C. Crews 2. Paul Snyder 3. Sizemore 4. Larry Mott 5. D. Crews 6. Brown 7. Henry

TQ Late Models

1st Heat (8 laps) – 1. Kevin Byers 2. Chuck Cessna 3. Ryan Brender

Feature (15 laps) – 1. Sean Babcock 2. Byers 3. Cessna 4. Brender

Hobby Stock

1st Heat (8 laps) – 1. Jake Hartley 2. David Dowling 3. Jonathan Green 4. Craig Strickland

Feature (15 laps) – 1. Hartley 2. Dowling 3. Green 4. Strickland

Thunder Stock

1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Mike Tripp 2. John Thorpe 3. Ken Petitt 4. Robbie Burkes 5. Codie Benton

Feature (12 laps) – 1. Tripp 2. Thorpe 3. Burkes 4. Petitt 5. Benton 6. Jeff Baer 7. Gerard Haley


1st Heat (6 laps) – 1. Steve Johnson 2. Jonathan Green 3. Scotty Sullivan 4. James Strehle 5. Dave Laurie

2nd Heat (6 laps) – 1. James Sullivan 2. Reid Christenson 3. Daniel Brown 4. Brian Thorpe 5. Casey Feaster

Feature (12 laps) – 1. S. Sullivan 2. Johnson 3. Green 4. J. Sullivan 5. Christenson 6. Thorpe 7. Feaster 8. Brown 9. Laurie 10. Strehle 11. Brandon Haseleu


Next Race – April 18 Modifieds, Thunder Stocks, Gladiators


Related posts